Welcome Guest | RSS

Many Fantastic Colors

Without music, life woud be a mistake (Friedrich Nietzsche)

Even if I knew that tomorrow the world would go to pieces,
I would still plant my apple tree
(Martin Luther)

Attention: Please visit my new blog:

(More)Many Fantastic Colors

Main | Log out | Login
Site menu
Our poll
Rate my site
Total of answers: 5

Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0
Login form
Main » 2011 » July » 19 » Sean Buckley Set - Hit House Hits (1966)
8:18 AM
Sean Buckley Set - Hit House Hits (1966)

In 1962/3, Dagenham guitarists Vince Nichols and Kevin Sheehan, sharing a passion for American R'n'B, formed rock band The Boys.
Local singer Sean Buckley joined them a year later, closely followed by drummer Dave Simmonds, also a Dagenhamite, and bass-player Colin 'Doc' Banyard from Elm Park. With this line-up the Breadcrumbs were formed. 

Turning professional in 1965, and managed by Kenny Johnson, in whose Stratford E.15. pub "The Two Puddings" they held a long-term residency, the band worked London pubs and clubs and toured extensively in concert, supporting The Kinks, The Who, The Animals, The Pretty Things, Manfred Mann, Jerry Lee Lewis, Them, P.J.Proby and many others.

After auditioning for Shel Talmy, their first record 'It Hurts Me When I Cry/ Everybody Knows', engineered by Glyn Johns and featuring Jimmy Page, was released on Stateside.

From 1966, with a name-change to The Sean Buckley Set, they travelled further afield, Spending long periods in Frankfurt, Copenhagen,Lyons, Avignon and Munich, where an album of covers,'Hithouse Hits', was cut for Polydor.

The band split in 1967, the Breadcrumbs scattering to find bread in other arenas, though mostly still involved in music.

In 1970/1? Sean and Vince re-united, using percussion and acoustic guitar to form the duo Buckley, who were taken on by the Tremelos management company, Gale Music.

Their record 'Billy Boy/ The Higher the Fewer' came out on Bell Records.

Colin Banyard (bass)
Sean Buckley (vocals)
Vince Nichols (guitar, vocals)
Kevin Sheehan (guitar, vocals)
Dave Simmonds (drums)
unknown brass section

01.19th Nervous Breakdown (Jagger/Richards) 3.50
02. Shapes Of Things (McCarty/Relf/Samwell-Smith) 2.21
03. Sounds Of Silence (Simon) 3.13
04. I Fought The Law (Curtis) 2.18
05. Listen People (Gouldman) 3.13
06. Keep On Running (Edwards) 2.52
07. Soulsville U.S.A. (Floyd/Cropper) 3.13
08. These Boots Are Made For Walking (Hazelwood) 2.40
09. Get Out Off My Life Woman (Toussaint) 3.04
10. I Got You (I Feel Good) (Brown) 2.47
11. Uptight (Wonder) 3.27
12. Michelle (Lennon/McCartney) 2.30
13. Jenny Take A Ride (Crewe/Johnson/Penniman) 3.55
14. To Whom It Concerns (Andrews) 2.42

ARMU 0030

Views: 1705 | Added by: Riffmaster | Tags: Year Of Recording: 1966, beat, Sean Buckley Set | Rating: 0.0/0
Total comments: 0
Name *:
Email *:
Code *:
Entries archive
Site friends
  • Coming soon

  • Tag Board

    All Music, All Blogs

    Copyright MyCorp © 2018

    Make a free website with uCoz